Regrowth Options and Edifice: Frozen Torment Updates

I’ve updated Regrowth Options to v1.02! Now you can have regrowth or penalties when you hit elemental weaknesses or resistances. I think my next script is going to be my Rogue Suite, which will focus on rewards and effects when you get criticals or evade attacks – stuff like buffing yourself, or having criticals inflict states, or dealing damage when you evade. Should be fun!

As for my actual RM Ace project, I’ve changed the name to Edifice: Frozen Torment. It used to be Edifice: Dark Guidance, but I’ve decided to make the sequel first. It’s something of an odd decision, and I guess will be full of spoilers… but I don’t care. I think this will be incredibly refreshing as a new take on “what happens after we save the world?” I’m filing it under the genre of post-post-apocalyptic environmental exploratory fantasy RPG.

Battles will look something like this:

And you will be able to play the battles soon, because I’m working on a battle demo to release this weekend, or shortly thereafter (I’ve been ignoring my homework for this…).

For funsies, here’s the logo:

  1. #1 by molegato on February 24, 2012 - 12:33 am

    Wohoo, nice news. I bet that new version of regrowth options works great with my cut actions for a persona-like dynamic battle. Or rather, my mini-scripts could complement well yours, as mine’s kind of small.
    The battle image looks awesome too, and I really wonder how’ll it look with all original graphics (I’m an anti-rtp guy, sorry XD) so I’m looking forward to see more about it. Keep it up!

    • #2 by crazetex on February 24, 2012 - 1:16 am

      I love the RTP and will continue using it, so deal with it ~

      And yeah, this battle system is a mix of SMT and FFXIII. Hitting elemental weaknesses builds more Burst than normal hits, for example. (Burst is then used as a cost for your powerful abilities.)

      • #3 by molegato on February 24, 2012 - 2:33 am

        Everybody has his tastes. The system looks awesome anyway.
        I’m waiting to see a video of it, to see how dynamic the battle is 😛

  2. #4 by Fafnir on February 24, 2012 - 1:02 am

    Looks awesome. I see you share my love for the samurai elemental icons…

    • #5 by crazetex on February 24, 2012 - 1:14 am

      The game is partially inspired by Chinese mythology and Taoism, and there is a strong thread of “foreigners in this world,” those foreigners being decidedly East Asian-esque. So, yeah. XD

  3. #6 by infamous bon bon on February 24, 2012 - 1:19 am

    I like the battle screen and the post post apocalyptic idea is nifty.

  4. #7 by on February 25, 2012 - 5:04 pm

    I always kinda wanted to play a game where after the world was “saved”~

  5. #8 by heis on February 27, 2012 - 2:55 pm

    What’s the timeline of E:FT, the prequel of E:FT, IPoP and Edifice?

    • #9 by crazetex on February 27, 2012 - 4:59 pm

      IPoP -> Diablocide -> Rigid Grave -> E:Dark Guidance/E:Beyond the Truth -> E:FT

      It’s measured mostly in Martins, haha. IPoP is the first, with Martin I as a main character. It also establishes Carmilla, who marries Martin I. Three generations later, Martin IV, “Princess” (Persephone Mercedes), Titania and the other eleven souls climb the Demon Tower in Diablocide. A generation later, Carmilla (who is immortal due to the finale of IPoP) and Wish (who is a vessel for Titania’s soul) assassinate Empress Persephone to end the war between Mercedes and Cydrel; Rigid Grave is the procession of the Abyssal Folk who carry Persephone’s corpse to the Edifice to become a dark goddess, the Moth Queen.

      The original Edifice has become Edifice: Beyond the Truth, which follows Carmilla, Wish, Martin V (Olsen, who is unwittingly Carmilla’s great-great-grandson) and the others within the Edifice itself, as they attempt to climb it to make their dreams come true, much like Diablocide and the fourteen characters climbing the Demon Tower. Due to the events of the other side of the duology, Edifice: Dark Guidance, everything goes to shit pretty quickly and the sixteen are forced to confront the realities they’ve been trying to ignore and supress.

      In E:DG, an entirely new cast (including Persephone’s illegitimate daughter), dead souls who leaked from the broken Edifice into the Netherworld, fights off the Moth Queen (Persephone) and Czarina, the Frost Queen, who have made and abused pacts with the Dark Sun that is attempting to rupture the Edifice and destroy both the Netherworld and the world of humans. They have some interactions with E:BtT’s cast a bit, mostly Carmilla and Seth.

      Finally, E:FT takes place three hundred years later in the ravaged world of humans, using most of E:FT’s cast. They’ve been rewarded by the Edifice with three hundred years of bliss walking the halls of the Edifice, but are now gifted with mortality. Carmilla and Seth return with an incredibly interesting role that I won’t spoil, even though you learn of it within the first minute of the game.

Leave a Reply

